$txt['youtube'] = 'YouTube'; $txt['youtube_invalid'] = '#Invalid YouTube Link#'; How to get boat on truck top?

Author Topic: How to get boat on truck top?  (Read 7128 times)

Offline aquachigger

• Cool Points: 8
How to get boat on truck top?
« on: April 04, 2016, 12:08:27 PM »
Hey guys... I'm trying to figure out a way to get my kayak up on top of my truck sleeping platform. I've looked at the commercial loading units online, but nothing looks like it will work with this boats design. I've been scratching my head for a couple months now, and the season has arrived and I am still at a loss. I do have a trailer, but need to get it on top for my extended trips. Any ideas or links to something that I could make or buy? Thanks...Beau   

Offline revtoyota

• Cool Points: 10
  • 907 953 9666
  • Engine: honda gc190's
  • Model Year: 2 2006's 1 2008
Re: How to get boat on truck top?
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2016, 01:39:14 PM »
Lift the front up to roof rack then grab the back and toss it up there.

Offline revtoyota

• 907 953 9666
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2016, 01:54:40 PM »
Oh and the truck has a 6 inch lift and 35 inch tires so not far from the same hight you are trying to get yours up to on your truck.   \./8

Offline bizler

• Mokai Addict Member
  • Cool Points: 50
  • Engine: EX21 W/EX17 Head
  • Model Year: 2010
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2016, 03:11:35 PM »
Perhaps you could devise a way to attach your Mokart to the rear of your roof rack such that you can then, after removing the engine, pump and fuel tank, lift the bow up on the wheels of the Mokart. Then just pick it up from the rear and roll it on.  Yakima makes a set of wheels that attach with suction cups to a rear window to accomplish the same thing for loading kayaks, right side up.

Of course a cradle would need to be fashioned on the roof rack to hold the Mokai once it is in place.  Unloading would be the same process in reverse. 

Offline aquachigger

« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2016, 03:38:33 PM »